Petites Pâtisseries

So I may not have been here very long, but I seem to have managed to find my way around the cake shops very easily. It’s safe to say I take after my Dad and I’ve always had a sweet tooth, but since coming to Paris I just can’t stop. The pastries, the éclairs, the tartes… There’s so much variety and they’re so different to other places, the French pâtisseries are in themselves an excuse to come here and visit. So here are just a few of my favourite places to go to for a sweet treat:

Pâtisserie PAUL


Because I’m a Brit, I just call it Paul’s Bakery, but honestly it is the go-to bakery for me and a lot of other people on their way to work in the mornings in the Opéra area. I tend to get a croissant armande just before going to the office, the staff are friendly and quick to take your order, so even if there’s a long line in the morning, it goes down quickly. They have loads of different pastries and cakes to choose from, savoury and sweet.

Eclair de Génie


I think there are only three stores in Paris, but this shop is supposed to be the best éclair shop in the Ile-de-France region. I went to the store in the Marais, and it is basically an exclusive éclair boutique. I’ll admit, they’re not cheap, but they just look so beautiful and taste amazing, you have to do it, even if you’re only going to do it once.

Pierre Hermé

My boss was telling me this is THE place for macarons (yes macarons not macaroons, the French will correct you every time) and after going there, yep, I get it. So many colours and flavours, Vogue calls Pierre Hermé the “Picasso of Pastry” and if you go there you’ll see exactly why.

 

Leave a Reply

