Eating out à la française

It’s safe to say the last couple of weekends I have been stuffing my face with whatever delicious French feasts I could get my hands on, largely due to the fact I wasn’t paying (thanks Mum). I’ve put together the best places I went to and what food I ate there as these seem to be the best brasseries I have come across since living in little old Pari.

Le Molière 12 Rue de Buci, 75006

A main dish, a dessert and a glass of wine for €16, this petite brasserie in the Odéon area is sat right in the heart of the bustling Rue de Buci, where the street is lined with restaurant terraces. I stumbled across it one weekend with my friends and I liked it so much I took my family the weekend after!



La Focacceria 12 Rue Dupetit-Thouars, 75003

Not really French, but a thin cheesy pizza topped with parma ham and free focaccia with olive oil on the side helped cure the hangover we had that day. A chic little ristorante in the Marais and it’s on a really quiet street so it’s also nice to just sit outside when it’s warm and enjoy a cold drink.



Le Petit Cler 29 Rue Cler, 75007

A pretty little brasserie that serves amazing food. Very chic and tucked away from the busy streets just across the Seine, we booked a table of six and sat out on the terrace under the heaters above our heads. Reasonably priced, and the fillet of duck we all ordered was cooked to perfection. The staff were also so lovely and welcoming.



Café du Rendez-Vous 2 Avenue du Général Leclerc, 75014

Located in the foodie part of Montparnasse, we didn’t fancy a full sit-down meal, so between six we shared a charcuterie board and bread with olive oil and vinegar, plus wine of course. Again, the waiter was very hospitable (typical high-quality French hôtellerie) and the food was great.

Leave a Reply

